#WearTheScarf 21 October

What a vision for urgent climate action! On 21 October, the last joint sitting day in parliament before COP26, Common Grace called on every federal MP and Senator to #WearTheScarf to show their support for urgent, ambitious climate action. 

At least 63 federal MPs and Senators wore the scarf, sharing about their action across social media as well as wearing it in Question Time. Please join us in thanking our nation's leaders for wearing the scarf and their leadership in calling for urgent climate action. Email, phone or send a message of thanks on social media, tagging @commongraceaus. (A list of all MPs and Senators who wore the scarf can be found below)

As Common Grace CEO Brooke Prentis expressed in her thank you message for #WearTheScarf on 21 October - “To the MPs and Senators who wore the scarf today we say thank you! Today was about showing your commitment. Tomorrow is about the urgent policy action that is required by each of you.

To the MPs and Senators who did not #WearTheScarf we pray you listen to the people in your electorate. The knitter who spent hours knitting a scarf just for you. The people who delivered it to you, presenting you with this gift. And those that met with you. As our MPs and Senators, may your hearts and minds be transformed to take the urgent climate action that is needed.” 

Listen to Brooke Prentis’ full #WearTheScarf thank you message here 👉 fb.watch/8Nqt6kmNsp/

Thank you to our knitters and Knit for Climate Action advocacy team!

#WearTheScarf was possible thanks to the amazing efforts of our knitters, and a core team of Common Grace advocacy representatives, who knitted scarves and met with our federal MPs and Senators to gift a scarf and engage in conversations to help spark urgent climate action. On 21 October every federal MP and Senator had the opportunity to #WearTheScarf.

Knitted as part of Common Grace’s Knit for Climate Action, there have now been more than 500 climate scarves knitted and gifted to leaders across these lands now called Australia.

As we have gifted these scarves to our federal MPs and Senators we have asked our nation’s leaders to take seriously the issue of climate change and commit to taking urgent action. We have also asked them to listen to and be led by those most impacted by our warming world, Aboriginal peoples, Torres Strait Islander peoples, and our neighbours - peoples of the Pacific Island nations.



Help us continue to call for urgent climate action. 

With COP26 just days away, and #ShowYourStripes day happening each year on the 21 June, Common Grace Knit for Climate Action will continue to call on our nation’s leaders to show their support and take the action needed for bold and urgent climate action.

You can help spark urgent conversations for climate action by calling on your MP and Senator to take urgent action and registering to knit a scarf! Find out more, and register to take part here


Can you support Knit for Climate Action?

You can help build on the success of #WearTheScarf and keep the momentum rolling by becoming a Monthly Donor to Common Grace. Help us continue to call on our nation's leaders to take the issue of climate change seriously. Sign up now to become a Monthly Donor.


Thank you to all of our nation’s leaders who listened to our call to #WearTheScarf on 21 October. 

Linda Burney MP for Barton (NSW), Senator Janet Rice (Vic), Zali Steggall MP for Warringah (NSW), Adam Bandt MP for Melbourne (Vic), Chris Bowen MP for MacMahon NSW, Helen Haines MP for Indi (Vic), Tanya Plibersek MP for Sydney NSW, Anne Aly MP for Cowan WA, Senator Sue Lines (WA), Susan Templeman MP for Macquarie NSW, Kristy McBain MP for Eden-Monaro NSW, Maria Vamvakinou MP for Calwell Vic, Dr Mike Freelander MP for Macarthur NSW, Josh Wilson MP for for Fremantle (WA), Senator Peter Whish-Wilson (Tas), Matt Thistlethwaite MP for Kingsford Smith NSW, Andrew Laming MP for Bowman Qld, Andrew Leigh MP for Fenner ACT, Kate Thwaites MP for Jagajaga Vic, Senator Marielle Smith (SA),  Tony Zappia MP Makin, Senator Deborah O’Neill (NSW), Richard Marles MP for Corio, David Smith MP for Bean (ACT), Terri Butler MP for Griffith (Qld), Sharon Claydon MP for Newcastle (NSW), Brian Mitchell MP for Lyons (Tas), Milton Dick MP for Oxley (Qld), Amanda Rishworth MP for Kingston (SA), Lisa Chesters MP for Bendigo (Vic), Libby Coker MP for Corangamite (Vic), Rebekha Sharkie MP for Mayo (SA), Senator Malarndirri McCarthy (NT), Senator Mehreen Faruqi (NSW), Josh Burns MP for Macnamara (Vic),  Rob Mitchell MP for McEwen (Vic), Senator Katy Gallagher (ACT), Julie Owens MP for Parramatta (NSW), Tony Burke MP for Watson (NSW), Ged Kearney MP for Cooper (Vic), Michelle Rowland MP for Greenway (NSW), Patrick Gorman MP for Perth (WA), Peter Khalil MP for Wills (Vic), Graham Perrett MP for Moreton (Qld), Fiona Phillips MP for Gilmore (NSW), Peta Murphy MP for Dunkley (Vic), Alicia Payne MP for Canberra (ACT), Anne Stanley MP for Werriwa (Vic), Anika Wells MP for for Lilley (Qld), Senator Jenny McAllister (NSW), Senator Dorinda Cox (WA), Senator Lidia Thorpe (Vic), Mark Dreyfus QC MP for Isaacs (Vic), Julian Hill MP for Bruce (Vic), Senator Penny Wong (SA), Luke Gosling MP Member for Solomon (NT), Senator Andrew McLachlan (SA), Shayne Neumann MP Member for Blair (QLD), Senator Catryna Bilyk (TAS), Bridget Archer MP Member for Bass (TAS), Senator Louise Pratt (WA), Andrew Giles MP Member for Scullin (VIC), Mark Butler MP Member for Hindmarsh (SA).


Thank you for taking action to help spark conversations for urgent climate action.